Gary Bettman Addresses the Whole Sidney Crosby Thing, Talks “Greatness”

Let me start by saying that I am not a believer in conspiracy theories, and that I’m usually the first to speak up in defense of Gary Bettman and the NHL whenever somebody starts the “Sidney Crosby and the Penguins are the league’s pet project” or the “Gary Bettman’s favorite son” talk.

As much as it pains me to even write the words “in defense of” immediately preceding the words “Gary Bettman,” it’s tough for me to get on board with the idea that a major business entity (like the NHL) might give preferential treatment to an individual player or team. Big corporations can’t possibly be corrupt, you know what I mean? (Also, I don’t watch the news and I might possibly live under a rock).

But then Bettman went ahead and issued these comments on Monday, and today they ran in an article on NHL.com (which mysteriously vanished from the site’s main headlines sidebar already in what must be, like, a total coincidence):

“The level of passion, emotion and gamesmanship can never be overestimated,” Bettman said. “I think people who follow the game closely understand it’s just noise. My guess is, Sidney Crosby is still the most popular player and has legions of fans in all ages in multiple countries. The fact that somebody might take a potshot, I guess, is the price of greatness.”

I had two immediate reactions to that statement. The first was that this was all just a marketing gimmick set up to pump up the official, NHL-licensed Sidney Crosby biography “The Price of Greatness,” to be released immediately following Crosby’s future retirement. That’s not a real thing (yet!) but man, it sounds so very right.

Check out the rest of the article over at our sister site, Buzz On Broad.

 

Comments
One Response to “Gary Bettman Addresses the Whole Sidney Crosby Thing, Talks “Greatness””
  1. Perfect picture of Gary for this story. There’s no doubt that Crosby is really good. I’m just tired of being told by the NHL and NBC that he is the savior of a sport that didn’t need saving from a whiny d-bag.

What Are Your Thoughts?

